jump to navigation

:: My January Books :: January 25, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Book Reviews.
trackback

A book is a gift you can open again and again – Garrison Keillor*

 Sometime ago, I said that I would save up to buy a good book each month.

I had a lot to choose from but in the end, these 3 topped my list; [and I bought them all 😛 ]

  1. Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom.. it was a recommendation from Clazirus and Princess.
  2. The Harmony Silk Factory – Tash Aw.. now, wuzzit Princess who read it again.. I’m not sure.
  3. Little Face – Sophie Hannah

I am going to read Little Face first, this weekend simply because the thriller nature of it just appeals to me. If any of you have read any of these books, DO NOT give me the spoilers.

I had wanted to purchase Hannibal Rising but several reviews put me off. Maybe a 2nd hand copy later on. I still have my Thomas Harris collection to complete, that’s why.

I enjoy thrillers a lot. Also family love sorta thing. Somewhere along the lines of Jodi Piccoult you know. Not into romance that much. I could.. but only when the mood strikes, and that happens rarely.

So, any other recommendations? New, rising authors maybe?

 *From : Wikipedia

Garrison Keillor (born Gary Edward Keillor on August 7, 1942) is an American author, humorist, columnist, musician, satirist, and radio personality.

He is best known as host of the American Public Media show A Prairie Home Companion (also known as Garrison Keillor’s Radio Show on BBC 7 and in Ireland).

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad :-( - January 25, 2007

hoho..mitch alboms silala baca..lambang dia laen dr yg laen

about tash aw..i think he’s to young but hell menang lak dia kan kat merata2..and then i like johnny’s mother sbb santek..hehe..

teruskan membaca kakmin walobagaimanapon..ceritera yg last sekalik x baca gik..amat berminat nak abca

2. wasaii - January 25, 2007

try ‘my little blue dress’..haha..da lme da buku ni..mebi x jupe g kot..

3. little healer - January 25, 2007

coollllllll…..

4. Shila - Malaysia - January 31, 2007

Hi Yas,
not to sure if my thoughts are welcomed here (due to the generation gap). But I highly reccomended the following books, I found them to be helpful in my healing from depression period (I’m still am in the period, btw). You’ll love these books if you love Tuesdays with Morrie.
1. Little Price – Saint Antoine De Exupery
2. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
3. All other Paulo Coelho books – The Zahir, By the River Piedra, etc….

From the other side of the globe,
Shila

5. little healer - January 31, 2007

Hi Shila,

Don’t worry. I welcome everybody’s thoughts …
I have heard of The Alchemist before and will definitely check out the others as well.. Thank you ever so much.


Leave a Reply

