jump to navigation

:: Babel Review :: January 26, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Medical School, Movie/TV Reviews.
trackback

Babel was directed by Alejandro Gonzalez and that name ring a bell. I know I’ve heard it before and yes I was right. He was the one who directed 21 grams. I found out what Babel means. It is a scene of noise and confusion.

TRAGEDY is UNIVERSAL

This is a complex tale of four interlocking stories. A poor Morrocan family acquires a rifle to protect their goats. An American couple’s bus tour holiday is shattered when she is accidentally shot. That couple’s children, at home in the USA with their nanny/housekeeper, accompany her to Mexico to attend her son’s wedding. A Japanese father, whose wife has committed suicide some time ago, is unable to communicate with his teenage daughter. A tragic tale for all concerned.

summary written by garykmcd

I ‘hate’ this story for the fact that I was drawn into thinking the worst possible scenarios that could happen whenever the characters were faced with a tragedy with an uncertain future. I kept thinking of the worst but the lovable part of it is that within every tragedy, there is always a tiny glimmer of hope for those in search of it.

Sometimes I think to myself, why do I always have to be pessimistic of their life journey? I discovered that I have forgotten that ‘every cloud has a silver lining’ or the fact that there is ‘a blessing in disguise’ sorta thing. Yea.. I keep thinking the world is full of atrocities that I forget there is always room for change to break through. So, I hate the world. Does that make me a good paedatrician? *wink

This story will be part of my DVD collection. Along with Hotel Rwanda which I have yet to find. I just have to let my brothers see this type of movies for educational purposes. Life lessons or watever you might want to call it. Unfortunately Babel is rated R for violence, some graphic nudity, sexual content, language and some drug use. So, I’d have to get my lil bro to do a bit of growing up first before exposing him to these sort of films.

Overall, I’d say it’s an good watch. A bit slow in the beginning. Probably because I was trying to figure out where does Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett fit in the movie plus I was thinking what’s with all these people? [this is what happens when you don’t read the synopsis first] It becomes better as you get the grip of how Babel chooses to unfold itself.

The medical part of the review – Gunshot injury [just links to reading materials.. in a hurry]

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad :-( - January 26, 2007

aha..
nad da boley ngundi..bley la tengok citer nie walopun ada sexual content nudity violence n yg sewaktungan nya..boley je tutup mata kan 😉

2. little healer - January 26, 2007

oh dear.. i havent registered as a voter yet~~

3. Puteri Nad :-( - January 26, 2007

jalankn tanggungjawab anda,pergila ke booth2 SPR berhampiran..

4. mimie - January 30, 2007

i watched the making of the movie… they picked ‘babel’ as the title just to open the discussion about the movie… the word babel from one of the myths(rasenyelah) in the bible… something about the tower of babel.. this tower was built so that people can reach heaven. and god became angry maaa.. so God punished everybody who built the tower of babel by making them speak in different langguage… hahahahaha a very educational comment from mimie..

5. little healer - January 30, 2007

wow.. that’s an interesting commentary


Leave a Reply

