jump to navigation

:: MOney MOney Money :: May 16, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Everyday Life.
trackback

  Upon my arrival to UK soil, I squat and kissed the ground, raised my hand and screamed out a  ‘Yatta’! I was immediately directed to Natwest to set up my bank account. I was therefore not aware of the existence of other bank societies. Most of my friends set up their account with HSBC and a tiny sum with Barclays. Unlike HSBC users at that time, I as a Natwest user;

  • Couldn’t do an external online money transfer ( which I now can )

  • No cheque book given automatically
  • BUT, my credit limit was way higher . Very useful if I want to buy my airplane ticket back home. 
  • I don’t know about Barclays though. So these three are the only banks I know. As popular as these 3 may seem amongst us students, it was Alliance Leicester who was awarded the “Best Current Account Provider” award in 2006. I know little of A&L but their services must be tip top to get the award. Maybe I should set up another bank account.

    Comments»

    1. Puteri Nad :-) - May 16, 2007

    hahahha..
    nad ada bsn dan public bank je
    lambang takleh lak foreigner bukak akaun sini..
    bley tp byk procedure nyeh..

    maka bestnyehh ada macam2 bank

    2. Kirana - May 16, 2007

    PG pun dulu pakai Natwest. Dia pun taktau kenapa bukak acc Natwest. Not Barclay, not others. Natwest popular dikalangan Malaysian?

    3. little healer - May 16, 2007

    nad,
    i see..

    kirana,
    kalo among postgrad.. natwest seems to be the choice.. but then kalo undergrad.. mostly guna HSBC..

    4. jet - May 16, 2007

    barclays sengal la..jgn bukak..tp nta..aku suke logo die..tu je sbab aku bukak barclays..bleh?

    5. daju - May 16, 2007

    i ade satu je account ker kt sini..and they actually ade both checking and saving account..
    as for credit card, tuh apply seperate..kna ade ssn la ape la..thank god,
    mase apply dulu..skali je tros dpt..

    6. nautilusiv - May 18, 2007

    Hmmm… any where over the sea, HSBC lebih convenience. Tapi syarat buka acc kat Malaysia. Tapi yang tak best setiap bulan dia cas rm5 AND EVERY TRANSACTION dia cas RM5 ke RM10. Haha yang best masa I cocok kat kat US, India ngan Bangladesh, Pilihan bahasa : Bahasa Melayu. Tercongang bangla tu tengok….
    Barclaybank… Hahaha hanya untuk transaction swisscash gue… dan penaja rasmi bolasepak malam minggu…Yuhhuuuu…hidup Liverpool


    Leave a Reply

