jump to navigation

:: Daddy, how do you make babies? :: May 24, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Everyday Life, Love and Relationship.
trackback

“A baby is born with a need to be loved – and never outgrows it”           

 – Frank A Clark

I suppose every child would come to a point in life when they’ll ask their mum or dad that difficult question.

“How do you make babies?”

It was one of those relaxing evenings when my dad would babysit my younger sister and I whilst my mum had some sort of ‘social errands’ to run. A flashback scene in a movie would show you a clear image of my dad busy tidying up the place for us to sleep. At 6 PM! Sarawak time. I was probably 4 or 5 years old and had just taken my bath because I smelt nice and for further proof my face was covered with a thick layer of Johnson’s talcum powder. Did my dad think he’s raising a child in a Chinese Opera family or something?

“Daddy.. gine molah baby?” [Daddy, how are babies made?]

I can see that he was busy sorting out the blankets (or pretending?) but he was surprisingly calm and gave me this answer.

“First I make a dough from eggs, flour, sugar and colouring. I mix them up well… then, I  make the dough into the shape of a baby with eyes, nose, arms and legs. Once I’m done, I give it to mummy for her to eat so the baby will be kept safely in her stomach. Once it’s ready to be a real baby, it’ll come out “

My dad looked so wise at the time. As a child, you tend to take every word as the truth and actually remember them to heart. ‘Oh.. so the stomach is like an oven then,’ I thought. I am sure my dad was grateful that I didn’t ask why my sister is slightly dark-skinned than me. He might have to elaborate nonsensically on his choice of colouring essences or ‘baking’ technique.

So, what’s your story? Or if you are a parent, what would you tell your children?

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad :-) - May 24, 2007

Hahahahah
i remember bertanya to my mother
she said i came from her perot..i said.Ooh,camne kuar dekat pusatke?she said from her ***** , I was so shocked and terbeliak..and cakap HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA? then my mother kata tipu je [but it was the real truth] she was being honest..hehehe

my dad showed me a cartoon about burung ni bawak baby dekat mulut dia stoke namanyeh. and i believed his version far more than i believe my mom’s at that time..

while my uncle drew diagrams to his daughters. lols

2. D - May 24, 2007

Cute! I always told my first-borns the truth: through the tummy (had C-section!). We haven’t gone through the details of birds and bees but have vaguely given hints. HeLp!

3. daju - May 24, 2007

xpnah tanye…
but ur dad punye answer comel..
hmm.if i ade children nnti..xtau la..

4. Puteri Nad :-) - May 24, 2007

i will tell my children
“oo nnt da form 3 akan belaja” musti diorang x saba gi sekendari skool

5. Syafrizal - May 25, 2007

Hmmm so baby is like cake huh, hehehe.

6. Minci - May 25, 2007

nad,
hahaha… verylah the berfantasi ur dad.. tk tanya ker stork tuih ambik baby dari mana? but dat ‘form 3 nanti blaja’ teknik is kinda interesting altho nanti bebudak akan mcm tk sabar nk tau lantas bertanya pada kawan2 dia yg lain..

D,
I see.. I guess telling them about how they ‘came’ is easier than how they are ‘made’

daju,
kenalah merangka jawapan skrang 😛

syafrizal,
yea.. hot cakes..hahaha

7. chot - May 25, 2007

wow

8. Kirana - May 25, 2007

whoa…
itu satu idea yg bagus. baby shaped dough!

9. kasyah - May 25, 2007

Brilliant. Funnylah when you said “so the stomach is like an oven then”….:))

10. Syafrizal - May 25, 2007

It will be good if baby like a hot cakes. You can mould it like Arnold The Terminator “I’ll be back” 😉


Leave a Reply

