jump to navigation

:: 1059 am :: June 11, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Medical School.
trackback

    “The first step to eternal life, is you have to die.”

– Chuck Palahniuk 

I went back to the patient after the morning ward round. I was curious to see what will happen after a ‘do not attempt resuscitation’ order is given. I sat outside her room flicking and reading through her notes trying to refresh my memory of her medical history.

She was a lady in her early 40s and was admitted with a subarachnoid haemorrhage.

Her family came and the sister in charge ushered them into the room. A few minutes later, the priest came. He gave me what seemed like a comforting smile before stepping inside. I remained outside, witnessing the whole scene through the glass windows of the door. I felt it would be inappropriate for me who wasn’t directly involved in her care to be in the room.

The priest talked to the family – the patient’s young teenage daughter and brother. This lady was a single mother and was never married. The nurse switched off the ventilators and we waited for her to pass slowly. Prayers were recited and I saw holy water being sprinkled to the patient – possibly as a blessing. Although I had no previous contact with the patient, I was still sad. I could feel that big lump in my throat as I tried to hold back my tears.

The family didn’t stay to see her take her very last breath but the priest was. And myself, only outside the room. After she passed, he went out and saw me. I guess my face gave way to the fact that I was on the edge of crying for he said, ‘Auww.. bless you’.

“How do you do it?” I asked. “You know, being so strong in the middle of everyone crying and dying?”

“Well.. if you’ve noticed, one is to not be yourself. But it doesn’t mean that you don’t care or not feel for the loss. People are afraid of leaving this world. Sad to depart with this ‘life’. You just have to believe that when they’re gone, we are entrusting their souls to be in  the care of Jesus Christ. She is in good hands. What you’re doing here is great. You help prolong lives, giving hope. But at times you just have to accept that this is God’s will and it’s for ‘her’ best.

One of the doctors was then called in to confirm the death. 

11/06/2007 Dr A***** Y***** (qualification)
1059 am

-Not responding to pain
-Pupils fixed and dilated
– No BS + HS for 1 min

Patient died.

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad :-( - June 11, 2007

huhuh..sian her daughter

2. Kasyah - June 11, 2007

God’s will and it’s for ’her’ best.

We just only a little human that cant predict what will come next.

3. shutterspeaks - June 11, 2007

it’d must be hard watching someone dies. i like the quotation, “The first step to eternal life, is you have to die.” are we prepared enough?

4. coops - June 11, 2007

i cant imagine myself being a doctor..dealing wif death and hopes. whatever it is, i believe u’re gonna be a great doc wif a gud heart. all the best dear.

5. Nur Amirah Shaharom - June 11, 2007

Minci, you gonna be a great doc soon. you will!

6. Minci - June 11, 2007

my goodness.. you people have too much faith in me.. 😛
it definitely is a different sort of thing to ‘see’ a patient die and to ‘hear from other people’ about a patient who dies..

7. D - June 11, 2007

remember, doctors can only help so much. God decides who gets to stay and whose time is up. In no time, you’ll be just like the priest – so calm over death.

8. nautilusiv - June 12, 2007

FOr us Muslim, Death itself is the eternal life… hamisya hamisya..forever

9. Syafrizal - June 12, 2007

I can’t watch someone died.. 🙂

10. jet - June 12, 2007

wo..kakmin kena preach!..u..u..

11. Matthew Garrison - August 28, 2007

Do you own the copyrights for the picture of the dead tree?

12. Minci - August 28, 2007

matthew,
no.. is it yours? sorry.. I can take it down but Im pretty sure I got this foto off stock.xchng that is free for use. I might be wrong though. let me know.


Leave a Reply

