jump to navigation

:: Semantics September 9, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Ponderings.
trackback

se·man·tics       (sĭ-mān’tĭks)  Pronunciation Key 
n.   (used with a sing. or pl. verb)

  1. Linguistics The study or science of meaning in language.
  2. Linguistics The study of relationships between signs and symbols and what they represent. Also called semasiology.
  3. The meaning or the interpretation of a word, sentence, or other language form: We’re basically agreed; let’s not quibble over semantics.  

I actually despise the word ‘open-minded’. It has been manipulated for all the wrong reasons. I prefer ‘open’. On the surface, it may look like it means the same thing but for me, I think it brings on a whole lot of difference. By being ‘open-minded’, I am ‘for sure’ subjecting myself to the many ideas or opinions that could dangerously contradict with my faith. Saying ‘I’m open to hear about this but’ as opposed to ‘I’m an open-minded person, talk!’ does give me that slight stand to reject the thought if I don’t like it. I’ll still hear it out but that doesn’t mean we would be in the same boat. I’d be on a motor boat, the other can might as well get on a bot penambang. Miahahaha 😈 *It’s hurtful enough to hear people say back to you.. ‘kata open-minded!’ and I’d be like ‘What? On things like that?’ hotak lu okay? hotak lu! Bee – OO -dee – OO -echh.. bluekk.*

*This confrontation never took place, just a figment of my imagination.

Do you declare yourself to be ‘open-minded’? What does it mean to you?

Comments»

1. adiratna - September 10, 2007

Sometime we reacts, sometimes we acts… and say “Ooo… I c. Maybe.. Tak tahu pulak saya… hmm.. macam tu ka?”

2. Restless - September 10, 2007

Nope. I’m not.

(Unless, if I like that person and whose thots I respect. Bias me!)

3. K.Shila - September 15, 2007

Just to share my experience.

About 9 years ago, I came back to office after my wedding, sharing with my colleagues the photos from the ceremony. Then came along this a##hole Manager who was trying to ‘fit’ in and asked me this stupid q: “So…how was you first night?”. I was numbfounded of course…and he continued “Of course I knew it wasn’t really your 1st night. Surely you’ve had yours when you studied in the States” and he walked away.

I couldn’t just let him be after making such degrading remarks at me in public. So I went to the company’s MD and HR Director and filed a complaint of harrassment. It was my first job in Malaysia and I was the 1st female engineer there…so with this latest stint (of reporting about this a##hole), my popularity shoots up the roof!

He apologized insincerely (after being directed to do so) and said “I thought you are open minded”.

4. Minci - September 16, 2007

adiratna,
oh.. kalo ko tk tau.. aku lagilah..😛

restless,
its not a crime to NOT be open-minded:mrgreen:

kak shila,
thank you for sharing this little piece of story and congrats for being able to finish your sessions of sharing the 7habit ideas with your friends😉


Leave a Reply

