jump to navigation

:: The Kite Runner November 16, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Book Reviews.
trackback

haish.. gila ke apa? Nangis atas bas! But that was the state of me as I read this book.

 

I was on the bus to Different Hospital the other day to observe a medical procedure done there. It was a long trip and I brought with me a book to read – The Kite Runner.

The Kite Runner tells the story of Amir, a well-to-do boy from the Wazir Akbar Khan district of Kabul, who is haunted by the guilt of betraying his childhood friend Hassan, the son of his father’s Hazara servant. The story is set against a backdrop of tumultuous events, from the fall of the monarchy in Afghanistan through the Soviet invasion, the mass exodus of refugees to Pakistan and the United States, and the Taliban regime.

more at Wikipedia

I didn’t have a care in the world for the happenings around me for I was in my own world – in Afghanistan with Amir, knowing Hassan. Growing up with Amir, thinking about Hassan. The irony, the plot. Everything was perfect.

My favourite character.
Baba – Amir’s father. I guess he represents what most of us are, a mixture of evil and good in one personality. 

My least favourite character.
The villain, Assef. Kodi jer watak dia.

Most memorable scenes/chapters.
About finding God again once one have lost them. It is not in masjeeds and chapels, but in hospitals where the dying’s end is near.

Favourite quotes/sayings.
” There is a way to be good again ”

What I’ve learnt/discovered.
No one can put it down any better than Kak Shila. I quote,

It describes vividly the adversities men have to go thru in order to test their real character.

I read a review on ImBd saying that the movie version wasn’t as good as the book. I’ll have to find out for sure, would I?

In the meantime, I’d definitely put ‘Thousand Splendid Suns’ on my reading list.

Comments»

1. cakapaje - November 16, 2007

Salam Minci,

I read the book and believe like most book-turned-movie, very few can match the literature. The narration is good and I pity Hassan and at times, think Amir is a worthless friend. But I agree with you on Baba! Character dia garang pada Amir tapi penyayang especially to Hassan. Nice book.

Try Wilbur Smith lak: Blue Horizon. This is more of an epic in the same vein as Centennial dan Roots.

2. Nad - November 16, 2007

told cha..
hehe
i cried too
especially masa part da sampai budak kecik tu

3. Puteri Nad =( - November 16, 2007

guna ni balek lah hehe

4. Nur Amirah Shaharom - November 16, 2007

Uish, menarik ni. sampai nanges2 bace.. huhu. nak pinjam bleh x?

5. enn0suke - November 17, 2007

crita ni sampai skrg blm sempat aku nak abiskan… huhu… emotional overdose yer? hehe… akan berusaha membaca ptg ni…

6. Minci - November 17, 2007

cakapaje,
wilbur smith.. sounds familiar. i will check that one out.

nad,
sedey.. 😦

amirah,
serious ke nk pinjam? kalo serious, I can bawak balik for you..

ennosuke-chan,
gambatene..

7. abbottabad - February 7, 2009

i agree with you


Leave a Reply

