jump to navigation

:: Our Parents November 21, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Love and Relationship.
trackback

Parents. They never cease to surprise us.

One of us four siblings have made our parents upset. Thus, an email was sent to all of us from our parents. No names were given but we knew WHO. Though every child was not guilty, everyone was ‘entitled’ to a reminder. Years ago, it would have been a little smack or get told off by the high voices of both Father and Mother. I suppose when your parents get older, they just don’t have enough energy to do that anymore.

It was a general type of email. The type that people forward all the time. Nothing specific but knowing the current circumstances, we get the message.

Subject : Our Parents
We may not afford luxuries for them, but let’s give them whatever wecan, not just what money can buy … but TIME & LOVE plus PATIENCE

….. make their old age comfortable without worries about their
children.
 
May God bless them with good health and long life … till they watch

their grandchildren have children ..
 

Very beautiful advice…………….. 

” A simple man tells how his booking an air ticket for his father, his first flight, brought emotions and made him realize that how much we all take for granted when it comes to our parents.  

My parents left for our native place on Thursday and we went to the airport to see them off. In fact, my father had never traveled by air before, so I just took this opportunity to make him experience the same.  

In spite of being asked to book tickets by train, I got them tickets on lufthansa. The moment I handed over the tickets to him, he was surprised to see that I had booked them by air. The excitement was very apparent on his face, waiting for the time of travel. Just like a school boy, he was preparing himself on that day and we all went to the airport, right from using the trolley for his luggage, the baggage check-in and asking for window seat and waiting restlessly for the security check-in to happen.

He was thoroughly enjoying himself and I, too, was overcome with joy watching him experience all these things.  

As they were about to go in for the security check-in, he walked up to me with tears in his eyes and thanked me. He became very emotional and it was not as if I had done something great but the fact that this meant a great deal to him.  

When he said thanks, I told him there was no need to thank me. 

But later, thinking about the entire incident, I looked back at my life. 

As a child how many dreams our parents have made come true. Without understanding the financial situation, we ask for football, dresses, toys, outings, etc. Irrespective of their affordability,they have satisfied to all our needs. Did we ever think about the sacrifices they had to make to accommodate many of our wishes?

Did we ever say thanks for all that they have done for us? 
Same way, today when it comes to our children, we always think that we should put them in a good school. Regardless of the amount of donation,we will ensure that we will have to give the child the best, theme parks, toys, etc. But we tend to forget that our parents have sacrificed a lot for our sake to see us happy, so it is our responsibility to ensure that their dreams are realized and what they failed to see when they were young, it is our responsibility to ensure that they experience all those and their life is complete. 

Many times, when my parents had asked me some questions, I have actually answered back without patience. When my daughter asks me something, I have been very polite in answering. Now I realize how they would have felt at those moments. 

Let us realize that old age is a second childhood and just as we take care of our children,the same attention and same care need to be given to our parents and elders.

Rather than my dad saying thank you to me, I would want to say sorry for making him wait so long for this small dream. I do realize how much he has sacrificed for my sake and I will do my best to give the best possible attention to all their wishes. Just because they are old does not mean that they will have to give up everything and keep sacrificing for their grandchildren also. They have wishes, too.

Take care of ur parents. 

pls: pass on this mail to every child who loves parents and want to love them more……

Of course I want to love my parents more. I read it and I realized that eventhough I in particular, am not one of those children who didn’t think about financial affordability when they ask their parents to go for trips, new dolls etc.. I knew my parents still had a lot to sacrifice.

They had to sacrifice NOT having me near them when I started boarding school at 13 years of age, not being able to watch me grow, not being able to celebrate my birthday every year, not knowing deeply who my friends are, my favourite colour, music and books. They have to make do with what they can get hold of me/ know about me when I come back home for the holidays. And I have always been away. I was hardly at home. From 13 to now 24. That’s a freaking 11 whole years.

All this they sacrificed because they want me to have a good education and to be the first doctor coming from a non-medical family and from a string of relatives with non-formal education background.

They want me to break free from the cycle of relative poverty and poor social background. They want me to experience living in a world where one can believe they can make a difference and not just accept things for what they are. They want me to be friends with ‘good’ people and not thieves and whores that could damage any young woman’s soul. They want me to learn about Islam a bit more than what they have known in hindsight. They want me to be ‘right’ although they are not or have been ‘wrong’ in the past.

Forgive me Daddy. Forgive me Mummy. If I have wronged you.

Comments»

1. jet - November 21, 2007

yeh..whatever happens, parents kne saspek dan jaga..tengs for this peringatan..mm..ei..sori kalu pape yg aku ckp berkenaan masalah yg melanda mungkin tak kena tempat ke..maklomla darah muda..[harap kamu paham apa yg sy maksodkan]

2. nautilusiv - November 22, 2007

Will quote the letter. TQ.

3. kaSyah - November 22, 2007

make me remember at my parent now..

4. Minci - November 22, 2007

Jet,
mere amigos.. sama2 lah kita beringat.. kita berdua mmg darah muda.. aku paham sbb aku pun agak tuh kan..😛

adiratna,
bagus

kasyah,
ur parents go mekah kan? may they are well there..

5. Resless - November 22, 2007

yup, we need that once in a while of the things that we tend to forget.

P.S – Yup, loving WordPress from day to day. It must be the font, what do you think?

6. cakapaje - November 22, 2007

Salam Minci,

Ingat tak Riddle of The Sphinx?

What goes on 4 legs in the morning, 2 legs in the afternoon, and 3 legs in the evening?

Human – kita, manusia. Sewaktu kecil kita merangkak dan menerima kasih sayang keluarga. Bila dewasa, kita belajar berdikari. Dan bila dah tua, kita bertongkat – menumpang kasih sayang dan keperihatinan anak dan masyarakat.

Syurga, di bawah tapak ibu.

7. Minci - November 23, 2007

Restless,
true. about fonts, I think it’ll depend on which template we’re using cause really.. some of them are just crap.

Cakapaje,
ah yes.. I do. Good reminder..


Leave a Reply

