jump to navigation

:: Adios amigos November 28, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Love and Relationship.
trackback

Preface : Please do not think that it is directed to you. You know who you are. My thoughts are random and this piece have been drafted ages ago.  

I was listening to Paul Pott’s version of Cavatina and the immediate images that flashed in my head were scenes in the movie –  The Deer Hunter. I find the story a bit confusing sometimes but come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind having another go at watching it again – when time permits. Having seen it on DVD, Jet and I both agree that perhaps the title should be changed to something more clear like ‘Russian Roulette killed my friend’. But not everybody can come up with a good title for a piece of literature, movie or even blog entry do they? Take Yours Truly for example.:mrgreen:

Speaking about friendship, the world is never short of stories that illustrates outstanding ones are they? And we could easily find a quote that describes perfectly the type of friendship we have with one person and another. For instance, when I think of Mimie.. the phrase that comes to mind is “Best friends are the sisters that God forgot to give us”. Of course, God never forgets. And when I think of Nad, Jet  and other mischievous friends.. its “Laughter is the shortest distance between two friends.”

Friendship with A can never be the same as with B or with C. Oprah says there are Five Friends Every Woman Should Have.
1. The uplifter
2. The travel buddy
3. The truth teller
4. The girl who just wants to have fun
5. The unlikely friend

I personally think that we could at least be that ‘unlikely friend’ to anybody.

[Panjangnya mukadimah. Main Point nya sikit jer]

I Googled ‘Friends should not’ today. Just to see if there’s anything in the internet that could give a list of say, “Don’ts in Friendship’. There wasn’t any. I did this because there was one Don’T that has been a tiny theme in my life for the past few years. That is,

If you’re friends, try not to put him/her in a difficult situation. If possible, never.

Arguably, difficult times put friendships to the test. It can tell you who’s a friend and who’s a foe. But there’s all sorts of ‘difficult situation’ aren’t they? Hmmm.. This is the part where I leave my thoughts hanging. Lantas semua manusia kegeraman dan dipaksa menyambung perbincangan dengan kaedah sendiri.

Comments»

1. coops - November 29, 2007

babe, personally i believe frens are hard to find. when u thot u can rely on them. kabush, they are gone. when u thot they stand by u all ths while, haha, they bitch behind u instead. well i guess it’s a matter of luck. some ppl are lucky and some are not.

2. cakapaje - November 29, 2007

Senorita Minci,

Por fabor. El cavatina has a vocal version by Cleo Laine accompanied by John Williams on guitar – a superb piece of work, but only if you care to listen to slow numbers.

About friendship, a guy put it this way to me: kalau bukan kawan engkau yang menyusahkan engkau, yang menipu engkau, yang sakitkan hati engkau, siapa lagi? Takkan lah strangers kat jalanan nak buat camtu!
I listened to that and replied “huh…? oh! Haaah! Ok”
Masuk sense gak when you think about it. I mean, put yourself the other way around…er, me the other way around. When I’m in trouble, I found REAL friends who came to assist me: yang tolong rush me to the hospital, yang call offer service to get me out of the slammer by pulling the walls down with his bicycle, and so on so on lah.
So, in return, I pulak have to wait my turn to be susahkan by the friends mentioned above, or be kindly to other friends and strangers: what goes around, comes around. Begitulah khutbah petang Jumaat ini…:) Muchos gracias kepada pendengar.

ps. love that leopard and orangutan pic.

3. cakapaje - November 29, 2007

ps.ps…oops! baru dengar Paul Potts. Sama version ngan Cleo, cuma Cleo is a lady.

4. shutterspeaks - November 29, 2007

nice song from paul the potts… i believe dia penah masuk mimpi ko…

kawan datang, kawan pergi, moga dalam ramai2 kawan ada sahabat… yg sejati… amin…

5. jet - November 29, 2007

1. The uplifter
2. The travel buddy
3. The truth teller
4. The girl who just wants to have fun
5. The unlikely friend

which one is me?engkau adelah..er..unlikely frenku..hahha..

sapeka paul potts..

6. Puteri Nad =( - November 29, 2007

uhuk kakmin..
ur the bestest🙂

7. Minci - November 29, 2007

Coops,
The medicine of life is to have true faithful friends.
-Hence, I wish you all the luck in the world to find those true friends🙂

Cakapaje,
A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.
– the leopard and org utan picture just goes to show that you don’t have to be alike to get along

Shutterspeaks,
A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walk out
– pernah ker? matilah aku tk ingat mimpi sendiri. mesti tk penting.

Jet,
Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.
– you have the ability to fulfill all 5 types. Paul Potts tuh pakcik opera dlm britain’s got talent

Nad,
If all my friends were to jump off a bridge, I wouldn’t jump with them, I’d be at the bottom to catch them.
– you too dear. you’ve filled part of the void in my life.

8. nautilusiv - November 30, 2007

Its easy to find all the 5 listed friends but the trickiest part is hard to find A FRIEND that qualify for all the five criteria.
8)

9. nautilusiv - November 30, 2007

Ooo..ye… itu bukan leopard la… itu halimau… apa da ( the truth teller ) tapi takpe, I know you rabun sebab u wear those corrector ( the uplifter ). But for sure I am not No 4 since I am not a LADY.

10. Just A Lady~ - November 30, 2007

hmm… i put you as…. a cute chiky friend from a far.. ada tak kategori nih?

11. Minci - November 30, 2007

adiratna, wahahaha.. nk jugak kau masuk kategori yer.. baguss..

kak syifa,
kiter dah nk balik!!! oh.. mcm masuk kategori alien jer.. ha ha

12. tempe1543 - December 1, 2007

personally, i never had a best friend but a lot of normal friends… the reason being, if we put too much trust and hope into someone it would surely hurt as hell when that someone doesn’t live to what we hope for… we could not blame them as they themselves might have more important people or friends than us… therefore to me your best friend should the person u intend to spend your whole life with… u will know when the time comes

13. Minci - December 1, 2007

personally, i think that to regard someone as a best friend goes to show that we know each other well enough to understand what & who is important to them at various stages of life. I for one do not choose to have friends so as they could do something for me or live by my rules of life. I suppose it’s an unwritten rule that in any friendship, there must be a level of respect and care for each other.

I think to have best friend is also to have that anchor that you could hold on to when the currents become too strong for you to handle alone and of course, that best friend could always be that one person you want to spend the rest of your life with.😉


Leave a Reply

