jump to navigation

:: Saying the darndest thing December 3, 2007

Posted by Minci 先生 in Medical School.
Tags: ,
trackback

“Terlajak perahu boleh diundur
Terlajak kata buruk padahnya”

In my case, there wasn’t any significant harm. It just made me look silly. A silly medical student. Seriously I don’t know what I was thinking at the time.

The incident took place in the afternoon outpatients clinic. I was requested to convert the patients weight from ‘kg’ to ‘stones’. I asked the nurse where I could find the conversion chart.

Me : where’s the weight conversion chart?
Nurse : It’s here love, (while looking at it) what’s the patient’s weight?
Me : 58.5 kg
Nurse : right.. it’s 9 stone 3
(this is the part when the stupid statement came blurting out of my mouth without thinking)
Me : Is that for man or woman?

Arghhhh.. I felt like sinking into the ground when I realized what I’ve said. For my defense, can I just say that the chart looked very much like a peak flow chart that the thinking mode (if there was one) was automatically switched to asking about gender difference. Come to think of it, this is actually balasan Tuhan for something I sniggered at some time ago. Padan.. balasan! Story later.

This also reminded me of the time when I was taking a medical history from an elderly patient. It has always been good practice to ‘sign post’ the patients story just so everyone is clear about what is happening. To do this, the technique is to either summarise everything and relate it back to the patient or repeat their words to further emphasise the matter. A good example would be as follows;

Patient : I’ve got this chest pain doctor.. (dan terus membatu..)
Dr : Chest pain? Tell me more about it

But I must have been tired out for that particular day for I find myself saying this;

Patient : I was really short of breath when I went up the stairs..
Me : I was short of breath
Patient : No.. I was short of breath
(Damn.. I knowlah.. felt sheepish at the time.. serious tau makcik nih

Nothing however is more hilarious than the blunder a consultant did, as related in Reader’s Digest.

Consultant : (asking a patient on the wards just before discharging him) Who’s at home with you?
Patient : My wife
Consultant: My wife….

Finally, the writing blunders of writing the day’s date rather than the patients date of birth on the blood forms. Matilah nenek usia 92 tahun baru usia 1 jam.. Some Drs on the other hand, have accidentally put their name on the death certificate form! :mrgreen:

Comments»

1. daju - December 3, 2007

Terlajak perahu boleh diundur
Terlajak kata buruk padahnya..

in your case..dont think gonna lead to bad consequences..
it’s just funny..esp. the short of breath tuh..hehhh..

2. 13may - December 4, 2007

hehhe…lawak lawak😀

3. coops - December 4, 2007

hey babe, u r so blur, sometimes. makes me believe that, docs are human too *wink*

4. tempe1543 - December 4, 2007

hahahah klaka yg psl SOB tu…
biasalah tu buat silap, kita ni pun manusia kan… jgn tersilap mange sudah (mcm tersilap buat BKA kat kaki salah)… menangis nk menjwb nnt

5. Nur Amirah Shaharom - December 4, 2007

owh, saya suka dialog yang last tu.. happens all the time!

6. jet - December 4, 2007

hahah..sume org pon buat keje bodo dalam ini dunia..temasokla diriku…

7. cakapaje - December 4, 2007

Salam Minci,

Could this be the reason why you’re not replying to comments? Hmm…🙂

8. Minci - December 4, 2007

daju,
huhuhu.. i am so going to be the clown of the batch

13may,
lagi lawak drpd kau tak?

coops,
sgt blur okeh kakak cantik.. even my visions are blurred..😆

tempe1543,
alamakkkkkkk.. BKA tuh short form utk apa plak..

amirah,
of coz dear..😉

jet,
marilah kita mkn otak udang byk2 lagi..:mrgreen:

cakapaje,
huh? what reason?.. abihlah blur..

9. jet - December 4, 2007

adeka tempe dokto dokti..?

10. Minci - December 5, 2007

jet,
hait.. orthopods..😛

11. tempe1543 - December 5, 2007

BKA – below knee amputation
AKA – above knee amputation
SOB – shortness of breath (bukan son of….)
POP – plaster of Paris
dsb…. byk short form kena tahu nnt…


Leave a Reply

