jump to navigation

:: A Book Is.. February 15, 2008

Posted by Minci 先生 in Book Reviews, Everyday Life.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

.. a gift you can open again and again. :) 

The Truant Trio went for a trip to KLCC today and stepped into Kinokuniya. Johann Sebastian Bach’s piece -‘Air’ from “Suite No.3 in D major” was played in the bookstore lending a very peaceful and intellectual touch to the atmosphere. I recognised it well for it was one of the soundtracks in the movie ‘Se7en‘ at the library scene, when Morgan Freeman was doing some research on the seven deadly sins.

Johann Sebastian Bach – Air

Browsing through the aisles, my eyes were immediately glued on to several interesting titles. If I had the cash, I would have bought them all. Unfortunately I’m no millionaire and I had to be more selective in my choice of purchase.

Buying a book for myself requires consideration of these aspects (in no particular order);
1. The Font
2. The Price
3. The Thickness
4. What I can gain from the book – Humour? Life lessons? Knowledge? Visual pleasure? LOL

I ended up leaving Kinokuniya empty-handed. With an ounce of dissatisfaction. However, opportunity presented itself the second time when I suddenly remembered that I have my ATM card with me!! Woohoooo..

I withdrew some money and this time, at The Times (the bookstore near the surau), I managed to buy one of the books I liked – Paulo Coelho’s ‘Like The  Flowing River’. I also bought a book for BroDy’s birthday present next week entitled ‘The 7 highly effective habits of teens’. I just hope that he’ll read it. Well, even if he doesn’t, I could still have a peek.🙂

PS: Caught a glimpse of Omar Shariff today, Kefli AF at Mid Valley the other day. and Minci the rempit model on the highway billboard.

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad =( - February 15, 2008

owhhhh
coelho’s books are so in sekarang..nyehnyeh

nad semalam pi kedai seken hand dan membeli buku2 penguin dengan harga murah2 dgn amat banyak

1-witch at the sea
2-the komandant’s mistress [pasal jew menyamar kristian dan jadi assistant nazi officer]
3-the hummingbird saint
4-THE SWEETHEART SEASON
5-the accidental

hehe ,me beli je semua buku as long bukan buku2 motivasi,after years reading them off my father’s shelves i think da cukup termotivasi utk slamanye ; merasa~~

i’ve yet meninggalkan kedai buku w/o buying anything

kakmin try la baca cerita kafka tamura by haruki murakami,thought provoking n also the afghan,penipuan ttg org islam..hehe

panjangnye diriku mengomen,lantaran buku is my peberet sabjek

2. memincikun - February 15, 2008

Salam Minci,

Isk isk isk! Ekau ponteng samo si Jet dan Fiza? Isk isk isk! Dan poi KLCC lak tu! Punya le jauh! Er…napo tak sound den?

Dan musik ni…bery the cultured! Tak faham den. Tapi cito se7en tu adolah den tengok…sodih aweks dio mati. Eh, yo ko? Den pun tak ingat. Jom, kita poi tengok wayang🙂

3. Minci - February 15, 2008

nad,
oooohhhh.. I’ve heard of that book. tadi pun hati ada terdetik jap bila lalu kat shelf and saw haruki murakami’s work! review of that title had been great as comapred to ‘after dark’ (which i was initially aiming for). kalau mcm tuh, next time I step into a bookstore, I’ll get kafta first, baru ‘after dark’

memincikun,
the wife died. which was sad. I thought the story was cleverly presented. i really loved it despite the gruesome aspects of it. nak sound apanyer.. guna asap mcm red indian?😛

4. memincikun - February 15, 2008

Ah lah…lagipun KLCC tu kan tinggi. Kalau pakai smoke signal kek atas tu, den kek soromban pun leh nampak🙂

5. tempe1543 - February 15, 2008

last time pegi kinokuniya aku borong series warhammer 40000, dekat 10 buku…. best giler (kalau u all suke keganasan ler..)

6. hata hero - February 15, 2008

kurang masa lah nak baca buku nowadays, jordan tadek buku omputeh kat irbid, kene gi amman baru le dapat buku2 cam pre order harry potter dahulu kala beratur tak panjang sgt maka ada omputeh tu berlagak katanya pada awek dia, ni la line paling pendek penah diikuti utk mengambil buku hari poter, mrasa dok negara org tak baca buku english!

7. Minci - February 16, 2008

memincikun,
pastuh suruh vultures terbang keliling your house kan.. miahahaha

tempe1543,
wowwwwwww.. itu manyak duit wooo

baez,
oh? din know that… tapi kira untunglah pembaca buku harry potter.. line pendek sajorr..

8. aarthilal - February 16, 2008

hello!
I’m a big Paulo Coelho’s fan and I don’t know if you heard about his blog
http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com
I’ve started as a fan and now I’m collaborating with him and thought that you would like to enter his universe.
Check the blog.
if you want, or subscribe to his newsletter
http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html
You’ll see a community of warriors of light sharing ideas, dreams and most importantly following their personal legend.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:

“In love lies the seed of our growth. The more we love, the closer we are to the spiritual experience”

Have a nice day!

Aart

9. kaSyah - February 23, 2008

One of the piece that I like,Air.

kinokuniya is the best place for me after mph to read my favorite books for free…(my faveret categories, self-development &business n marketing). only buy the books if i got enough money to back to home and i cant resist buku yg memanggil2 surh aku beli….

Paulo Coelho’s ‘Like The Flowing Rive, love story?

‘The 7 highly effective habits of teens’, I wonder why the title kind of similar with Stephen R Covey books…but then I knew the author is his son…:P

10. Puteri Nad =( - February 23, 2008

ya Allah kasyah camne baca buku bisnes n marketing?

11. mossavi - April 2, 2008

Kinokuniya is heavenly full of great books. I’d spend a whole day sitting or standing if I’ve gotten myself deeply engrossed with any particular book that catches my immediate attention ….. and I read just about everything under the sky :-))

12. Minci - April 5, 2008

kasyah,
ohh.. i have a copy if u dun want to buy.. can always lend it to you once i come home

mossavi,
lurv that place too. and yes.. everything under the sun!!🙂


Leave a Reply

