jump to navigation

:: Passionate Patch Speech April 30, 2008

Posted by Minci 先生 in Medical School, Movie/TV Reviews.
trackback

When I read the first part of this entry,  a statement from the movie Patch Adams came to mind. It has a similar message, only phrased with a slight difference. Dr Hunter Patch Adams said,

“You know, Truman… in all of God’s creations, only human beings kill their own species. There’s a fun fact for your final exam”

The best part of the movie to me was this particular scene below. I bought the DVD just so I could ‘relive the moment’ over and over again. I felt like I was one of the medical students there. I watch it when I want to feel inspired, when I’m stressed out and is in need for a reminder to myself as to why I’m in Medicine. I never fail to shed a tear when I watch this.

“A doctors mission should be not only to prevent death, but to increase the quality of life. That is why.. You treat a disease, you win you lose… You  treat a person, I guarantee you, you win no matter what the outcome!”

 

Comments»

1. Puteri Nad =) - April 30, 2008

huhuhu
dulu2 disarankan tengok citer ni oleh ayah gak
dia berdedikasi patch ni

go kakmin,u can

2. memincikun - May 1, 2008

Oooh! Den lum lagi tengok. Tapi quotasi Patch Adams tu memang bonau – manusia adalah hamba Allah yang paling mulia. Namun, manusia juga boleh menjadi hamba Nya yang paling hina.

3. mossavi - May 1, 2008

Doctor’s mission – Treating diseases and people ….. medicine alone has many majors …. I can imagine the volume of related books, thesis, papers, etc having to refer to …. all the best and my payers be with those of you sitting for your finals 🙂

4. mossavi - May 1, 2008

“I’ve wanted to be a doctor with all my heart …. so I can serve others. Becoz of that I hv lost everything …. also gained everything ……… this is what I want to do with my life and God is my witness …..” gosh I was so touched Min …… truly was.

5. hafiz - May 1, 2008

that quote from Patch Adam is inspirational 🙂

6. Danial - May 2, 2008

i was moved to tears when those kids put up the clown’s red nose…

7. Minci - May 2, 2008

glad to know everybody else liked it too 🙂


Leave a Reply

