jump to navigation

:: Filtering June 18, 2008

Posted by Minci 先生 in Everyday Life.
Tags: ,
trackback

With Badsyah in my life, it’s all about discovering what he has and using it to his full potential. Like this Microsoft Works Database thing. Kinda cool I have to say although I have yet to use most of its templates or components 100%. Im making a list of what I’d have to do over the next few weeks and boy, its giving me a tiny migraine.



Similar to MJ, I’m also in the midst of settling my affairs with the phone companies, internet, home bills, house rent, shipping! Considering that space is a luxury I do not have back home, tell me, how do I cram 5 years of my life here in one box?? Ha ha ha.

I’m already filtering my clothes and painfully, my books. I love my books but after putting much thought into it, I’d figured that maybe other people could benefit in the pleasure of reading it too. That ‘The Witch of Portobello’ has a point.

Source : The Witch of Portobello – A Novel by Paulo Coelho

“Is learning just putting things on a shelf or is it discarding whatever is no longer useful and then continuing on your way feeling lighter?”

“On the shelves were all the books I’d invested so much money and time in buying, reading and annotating. There were my personality, my education, my true teachers”

“How many books have you got? Over a thousand, I’d say. But most of them you’ll probably never open again. You hang on to them because you don’t believe.”

“I don’t believe?”

“No, you don’t believe, full stop. Anyone who believes will go and read up about theater as I did when Andrea asked me about it, but after that, it’s a question of letting the Mother speak through you and making discoveries as she speaks. And as you make those discoveries, you’ll manage to fill in the blank spaces that all those writers left there on purpose to provoke the reader’s imagination. And when you fill in the spaces, you’ll start to believe in your own abilities.

“How many people would love to read those books but don’t have the money to buy them? Meanwhile, you sit here surrounded by all this stagnant energy, purely to impress the friends who visit you. Or is it that you don’t feel you’ve learned anything from them and need to consult them again?”….

“Without them I’d feel naked.”

“Ignorant, you mean.”

“Uncultivated would be the right word.”

“So your culture isn’t in your heart, it’s on your bookshelves.”

Yah, Im trying very hard to convince myself that knowledge is best shared. And my way of doing it at the moment is to give it away. Im not parting with all of it but the decision of which books get to go in the shipping box must be made. NOW!  :P

Rileklah kan.. buku boleh beli.

Comments»

1. Zy - June 18, 2008

you are giving huda a set of speakers?

don’t you have anything for me? (ya baruk nya..sik malu2 mintak org berik hadiah) –> this is what we called as sick-of-project-option syndrome. or should i call it as pain-in-my-ass option rather than project option? huhuhu

i’m running this sunday. wish me luck eh.

2. FauzaN - June 19, 2008

my best friend hadiah kan buku tu, tapi mata malap2 lah nak baca buku tu….tak macam the Alchemist….

hye, saya dah try kari hijau, rupanya tu resepi thailand…hehehhe

3. mossavi - June 19, 2008

Busy packing to come home my dear? Tak sabar nak meet Tabib Minci in person🙂
Hugz…

4. pokdeng - June 19, 2008

I’m always trying to love books… but it’s still failed. Perhaps, I was not born to be a book-worm. Thank God, I’m still knowledgeable even though I can’t talk deep about any knowledge matters eg. philosophy, medicine, science, & literature.

5. pokdeng - June 19, 2008

correction:

*born not to be…

Look! I’m fail.

6. Minci - June 19, 2008

Zy,
I can give you my story book. I’m not bringing my ‘Tess Gerritsen : Harvest’ back home. Mok? That speaker is actually mine.also not bringing back, sbb tuh bagi Huda.

Fauzan,
yah.. the alchemist lagi nipis. he he
yup, green curry is a thai dish. trylah red thai curry plak

aunty mossavi,
begitulah..🙂

pokdeng,
its ok. Buku bukan ukuran kejayaan. cewahh

7. mangoandjojoba - June 19, 2008

I keep all my books. I’ll gladly lend it to other people in the future, but for now..I just want them with me. They are my ‘PRECIOUS’ hehehehe…

8. Zy - June 20, 2008

maok!🙂

9. kasyah - June 20, 2008

my books only for enthusiastic and keep learning people!

10. pahalavan - April 4, 2013

love panrankala

11. door mats outdoor - August 7, 2013

This is a really good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
Short but very precise info… Appreciate
your sharing this one. A must read article!

12. exterior door with dog door - December 15, 2013

I read this piece of writing completely about the resemblance of most up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s amazing
article.


Leave a Reply

